Ian W. Pearce

Director, Chairman

Ian Pearce has over 30 years of experience in the mining industry. From 1993 to 2003, Mr. Pearce held progressively more senior engineering and project management roles with Fluor Inc., including managing numerous significant development projects in the extractive sector. From 2003 to 2006, Mr. Pearce held executive roles at Falconbridge Limited, including Chief Operating Officer, and he subsequently served as Chief Executive Officer of Xstrata Nickel, a subsidiary of Xstrata plc, from 2006 to 2013. Since 2013, Mr. Pearce has been a partner of X2 Resources, a private partnership focused on building a mid-tier diversified mining and metals group. Mr. Pearce currently serves on the board of directors of New Gold Inc. and Outotec Oyj, and is the Chair of Mine Sense Technologies Ltd., a technology company seeking to improve the ore extraction and recovery process. He holds a Higher National Diploma in Engineering (Mineral Processing) and a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa.

Ian R. Ashby


Mr. Ashby most recently held the position of President – Iron Ore for BHP Billiton Ltd. between 2006 and 2012. During a career spanning 25 years working for BHP Billiton Ltd. and its predecessor company, BHP Ltd., Mr. Ashby worked extensively in Australia, South America, North America and West Africa in a wide range of business, operational and project development roles across multi commodities and in increasingly senior positions. Prior to his most recent role, Mr. Ashby was Chief Operating Officer – Base Metals for BHP Billiton Ltd. Mr. Ashby commenced his career at Mount Isa Mines Ltd. in 1980. He holds a Bachelor of Engineering in Mining from the University of Melbourne and is a Member of The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.

Geoff Chater


Mr. Chater has 29 years of international mineral exploration mining and capital markets experience. He is the principal of a capital markets consultancy which he founded in 1998 that provides advice related to corporate strategy, transaction related business development and capital markets relationship development, financing and communications. Mr. Chater holds a B.Sc. Geology degree from Texas Christian University.

Anne E. Giardini


Anne Giardini is the Chair of the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade, as well as a director and former director of several companies and non-business organizations. Ms. Giardini had a 20-year career with Weyerhaeuser, including as President of the Canadian subsidiary from 2008-2014. Before her tenure as President, she was Canadian Vice President and General Counsel at Weyerhaeuser where she worked on various corporate, legal, policy, and strategic matters. She is a community volunteer and is recognized for expertise on natural resource development, public and government relations, safety, risk, brand management, and manufacturing. She has been recognized extensively for her leadership and achievements in business and law, receiving numerous honors and awards for excellence. Ms. Giardini holds an L.L.M. from Trinity Hall, University of Cambridge, an L.L.B. from the University of British Columbia, and a B.A. from Simon Fraser University. In 2016, Ms. Giardini was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Peter G. Kukielski

Director, Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Kukielski brings more than 30 years of diverse international experience in the mining industry to this role. Most recently, Mr. Kukielski was Chief Executive Officer of Anemka Resources from 2014 to 2017, a private company backed by Warburg Pincus formed to invest in global mining assets. From 2008 to 2013 he was the Chief Executive, Mining for ArcelorMittal, responsible for 27 operating mines and three major development projects, distributed within 12 countries. From 2006 to 2008 Mr. Kukielski was the Chief Operating Officer of Teck Resources, responsible for the company’s base metal and gold mines, major development projects and a refinery. From 2001 to 2006 he was with Falconbridge (originally Noranda) in senior roles, latterly including Chief Operating Officer, and in years prior he had various increasingly senior roles with other major mining companies, including direct experiences in engineering, commissioning and operating significant mines in a wide variety of international jurisdictions. Mr. Kukielski has a Masters of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Stanford University in California.

Stephen Scott


Mr. Scott has thirty years global experience in all mining industry sectors. He is currently President and CEO of Entrée Gold Inc. Between 2000 and 2014 Mr. Scott held various global executive positions with Rio Tinto including General Manager Commercial, Rio Tinto Copper and President Director of Rio Tinto Indonesia. He serves as an independent director on the board of two other public mining companies and was a director of Reservoir Minerals prior to its acquisition by Nevsun. Mr. Scott holds a Bachelor of Business and Graduate Certificate in Corporate Secretarial Practises from Curtin University in Western Australia.

David S. Smith


David Smith has had a career on the finance side of business within the mining sector as well as within the supply side of the sector, with deep international exposure. He brings more than 30 years of financial and executive leadership experience to the Board. Mr. Smith served as the Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President of Finning International Inc. from 2009 to 2014. Prior to joining Finning, Mr. Smith served as Chief Financial Officer and a Vice President of Ballard Power Systems, Inc. from 2002 to 2009. Previously, he spent 16 years with Placer Dome Inc. in various senior positions and four years with PriceWaterhouseCoopers. Mr. Smith currently is a director of Dominion Diamond Corporation, Pretium Resources and Paramount Gold Nevada Corporation and is on the Board of Governors of Collingwood School. Mr. Smith is a Certified Public Accountant, and holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from California State University, Sacramento. He has also completed the Institute of Corporate Directors course, Directors Education Program.